Awards & Prizes

Ethnohistory Awards and Prizes

For scholarship published in 2015

Each of the awards and prizes pages has been updated with category submissions for scholarly work done in  2013. Please read each prize page in turn for general information and also to find instructions and submission requirements for the awards this year.

The Erminie Wheeler-Voegelin Best Book Award

This prize is awarded for recognition of the best book-length contribution to ethnohistory. The award was established in 1981 to honor Dr. Erminie Wheeler-Voegelin, an early ethnohistorian and founder of the Society. Find out more about the Erminie Wheeler-Voeglin award.

Robert F. Heizer Best Article Award

This prize is awarded for recognition of the best article in the field of ethnohistory. The award was established in 1980 to honor Dr. Robert F. Heizer, ethnohistorian and archaeologist noted for his research in California and Mesoamerica. Find out more about the Robert F. Heizer award.

Helen Hornbeck Tanner Best Student Conference Paper Award

Every year the ASE will award a prize to the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual meeting. Graduate students must submit their papers in advance to the award committee, and the winner will be announced at the ASE meeting. The award will include a certificate and a cash prize of $250. Find out more about the Helen Hornbeck Tanner Award.

Incoming search terms:

American Society of Ethnohistory